Week 11: 11km Singapore run

Hello from SINGAPORE my fellow newbie runners! πŸ™‚ Its my 2nd night tonight with my husband and my in laws. This is a 3night vacation with my husband to get off for a while on our busy days in Manila πŸ™‚

Before I start off on how my 11km run went, let me tell you about a quick bried on how amazing Singapore is! IT’S BEAUTIFUL!!! AWESOME! By far the cleanest City I’ve been in my entire life! Okay, I’ve only been to 3 countries outside the Philippines and it’s Bangkok, Hongkong and Macau so it you’re thinking that I am exagerating well that’s the reason haha! Coz I’ve only been to 3 countries πŸ™‚ I hate to compare Hongkong from SG coz the former is one of my favorite place on Earth. Whenever me and my husband will think “out of the country” our first answer will be HONGKONG πŸ™‚ This is my first time in Singapore and Oh Men! This is one sick CLEAN CITY. To be honest, I haven’t seen a policeman on the road and SG has a zero crime rate. You spit, you’ll be FINED. You go trash somewhere, you’ll be FINED. You cross a pedestrian when it’s red, you’ll be FINED. Now no wonder why everyone also is super nice. People from the restaurants are extremely nice! Now this one I can compare to HK haha! Anyway, I don’t want this blog to be a travel post so here goes about my running…

On my training schedule, I was suppose to do a 6km run only. Last night even though I was so tired from walking/touring the City, I was sooooo excited to wake up early and do my run. πŸ™‚ I woke up this morning at around 5:30am but as expected I snoozed until 5:45am hahaha! So I got up, put on my running clothes, got my earphones and filled my Simple Hydration Bottle. I left our hotel, Holiday Inn Orchard at around 6:00am and started running. I made my way down to Orchard Road and using my Apple Maps I followed it to Esplanade Drive where the Singapore River is. Oh well I got a little pre occupied coz I was trying to slow down my run because I’m going too fast and scared that I might ran outnof breath again! LOL! On my first 2 km, my average speed was 9.6km/hr!!! So I slowed down and made my way to a park, found out it was Esplanade Park.

20130608-224343.jpg

I was wearing my eye glass so I get to see fully the park. There are few runners but you won’t fear for your life LOL. I don’t know why but really it’s the effect of Singapore. It was already 6:30 in the morning but Mr. Sun hasn’t showed yet. When I turned on the Esplanade Park I was surprised to see a road (under the bridge) leading to the other side of the park without you having to cross the busy main road. I took it and just ran! πŸ™‚ Well, it wasn’t until my bestfriend at RunKeeper told me that I was already on my 6km run and was going pretty fast. Yes! That’s how beautiful the place is and I didn’t even realize how fast I was going and how long.. Because of these…

20130608-224229.jpg

20130608-225544.jpg

20130608-225723.jpg

And I didn’t realize I was really far until I saw this up close and realized I was on my 7km run..

20130608-225924.jpg

So I decided to go back to the Hotel but pass by at the Marina Bay route because yesterday I saw runners on that route. Well I have a 10SGD and I wanted to take a cab on the way back but decided that since I didn’t stop on my 6km required run might as well run in back at the hotel. And given the food that I ate here on our vacation and the food that I will eat on the next two days, might as well do addtl kilometres haha! Here’s the beautiful Singapore..

20130608-230428.jpg

So by the time I managed to go back at the hotel, I got this time!

20130608-230619.jpg

It was a pretty productive day for me and I’m sooooo happy! My husband wanted to join but he’s not feeling well. It was a “ME” time and I definitely enjoyed ever bit of it. I wanted to run again tomorrow but the walks and rides I did awhile ago at the Universal Studios was kinda suicidal so I think I’ll pass for tomorrow and sleep this off πŸ™‚

Goodnight everyone! I hope you had a good run while I was out πŸ™‚ LOL!

X O X O

M

Leave a Reply

