My 1st Half Marathon!

After 3 months of training and missing most of my long runs every Sunday, the day finally came! It’s my First Half Marathon! ๐Ÿ™‚

First Half Marathon Finisher!

First Half Marathon Finisher!

Running towards the Finish Line! =)

Running towards the Finish Line! =)

Still strong! =)

Still strong! =)

I started out good, I maintained my pace on an average speed of 9.5km/hr. The first 5km I can see the rabbits outrunning me and holding for their dear lives to maintain a fast pace! I didn’t let them get into my head and just motivated myself to maintained my pace and for sure i’ll see them after the 10km mark.

The first 10km was a breeze.
No injury. CHECK
Hydrated and took banana. CHECK
Breathing form. CHECK

In this race, we had to cross back and forth 2 flyovers. And when I say flyovers, its a nasty flyovers. I crossed the 1st one on the 5km and I was strong but had to walk a little when I got back on the same flyover on the 11km mark.

Then I ran again until hitting the 15-16km mark when the 2nd flyover came! Accckkk!! I hate flyovers ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It ruined my time! After walking a little at the flyovers I ran again until the finish line. I felt strong and checked if I had injuries. YAY!!!

When I looked at the time. I finished my first 21km on an Unofficial Time of 2:31.

I know it wasn’t the best time I was aiming for knowing fully that I have to be under 2:30 so I can meet the cut off time of the Milo Marathon 21km on July 28.

If I hadn’t been slacking on my training and cramming, I could have reached a better time. Okay, no whining. I’m grateful for the Lord for giving me the strength that I need! ๐Ÿ™‚ And grateful that I finished it strong, free from injuries! ๐Ÿ™‚

So now I have two weeks more to train my speed and endurance to meet the 2:30 mark on the Milo Marathon. The upside of this race is that the route will be more of a flat one unlike the uphill route last sunday. The Milo Marathon will have two flyovers but it’s more manageable, or so I think LOL

So what did I do after a Half Marathon?

Finally got my icepack to good use! =)

Finally got my icepack to good use! =)

Iced myself!

It felt sooooo good ๐Ÿ™‚ And the best part of this race is it has the most goodies!!! LOOK!

Thanks Regent and 2Go!

Thanks Regent and 2Go!

Check out my singlet and medal! ๐Ÿ™‚

Personalized Bib and Awesome Medal!

Personalized Bib and Awesome Medal!

I have dreamed this day would come and it did! Even though I didn’t reached my desired time the fact that I finished the race gave me goosebumps! ๐Ÿ™‚

So what’s next for me after crossing this out from my bucket list? The Milo Marathon (21km) and the Robinsons Buddy Run (10km). ๐Ÿ™‚

It has been a great journey for me, training and reading running blogs! Thank you guys for the inspiration ๐Ÿ™‚

X O X O

M

5 thoughts on “My 1st Half Marathon!

Leave a Reply

