Milo Marathon 2013

Yes! I DID IT! 2:25 baby! Woot!

It’s been two weeks since my long run (Takbo Ph Half Marathon) and since then I ran only once, a measly 5km run. But on that two weeks I practiced Bikram Yoga for six times. I know its not enoughy but I think it helps me on todays run 🙂

Days before this run, I was hesitating to race since:

1. The Milo Marathon is one of the prestigious running event here in the Philippines because its a qualifier race for the Paris Marathon, one word: PRESSURE;

2. The 21km has a cut off of 2:30. If you didn’t reach the cut off and you’re still on your last 3kms, a van will get you and you’re disqualified. Yes, humiliation + overly fatigue + NO medal = SUICIDE! LO!

3. It has the most number of attendees ever!!! Since Milo has been organizing this event for their corporate social responsibility for the last 37 years, registration fees are cheap and most schools require their students to join in the 5km and 3km race.

4. PEER PRESSURE! Because I am pretty sure all of the runners in my category are “fast” runners since no one in their right mind would succumb to that humiliation if you won’t beat the cut off hahahaha!

It’s my first time to join the Milo Marathon. I started training last late March and I firmly believe that its not the week before or two weeks before the race that would change your performance on your race day. Okay, I stole this one on my boss who do marathons LOL. She told me this when last week I tried to cram again on my running since I haven’t had a long run since my Half Marathon 2 weeks ago. And then she told me that, to just rest. DO NOT DO ANYTHING so my legs will feel “excited” to run this morning.

IT DID. The Bikram and my training paid off. Upon reaching the starting line, I started looking for a portalet! I wanted to pee and saw one after 2kms! I started good on my first 10kms, hitting a 6.3-6.6km/hr. My legs were strong, no injury pending LOL. I just stopped to hydrate after 6km and after that every 2kms. On the 11th-15th km, I started to wear off hehe but still I didn’t stop, I never stopped on the first fly over and I was still strong on the 2nd flyover. 🙂

After passing the 2nd flyover which is not as bad as those in Kalayaan (this still gave me nightmares LOL), I ate my GU Orange Vanilla Energy Gel and drank two cups of water. I don’t care if it will feel heavy, I just drank the whole thing! The energy gel was so concentrated! 🙂 I grabbed one banana and sticked it to my Nike Top hehe.

The 16th km- 19km stretch was the real deal breaker. It was a progress for me coz the last half marathon I started struggling on th 12km until the last one but on this particular race, I just felt my legs wanted to give up on that specific stretch. When I started on the 16km I was the only one running, I can see all the rabbits whom I saw at the start at a blistering pace who started to walk already. I was able to passed the “rabbits”! 🙂

The 17km-19km stretch was the hardest, I can see runners having cramps and seeing how painful it was I tried to look away while they are being assisted by volunteers and medic. It was then when I can feel my thighs and legs started to hurt a little and I was like “OH NO!” you see, I haven’t experienced cramps in my entire life so I don’t know what it feels like. I then started to slow down a little but I refused to walk. We passed again at the 2 flyovers on our way back and I didn’t stop! I ran on the way up and down! I was sooooo happy! 🙂

The last 3kms on the way to the finish line I tried to get to an “uncomfortable” pace from my “comfortable” pace. I thought it will hurt but was so surprised that my body hold on to that! Checked my phone and saw that I have only 20 minutes to reached a safe 2:25 on my time.

I approached the finish line with gratitude! It was a dramatic moment haha! Since it was a good timing that I was the only one approaching the finish line! I approached it while thanking my beautiful God for giving me the strength until I finish, a good heart, legs free from injuries, great lungs who didn’t give my pain the entire race and a very supportive husband whom I saw trying to take pictures of me at the finish line! 🙂

To my fellow Milo runners, whether you beat the cut off or not, let’s all congratulate ourselves for being there at the starting line and finishing the race with so much strength and courage! Kudos to us! 🙂

My next half marathon will be on October and 10km runs on between! 😉 I’ll be resting for a long while haha! Easy run and Bikram for me! 😉

20130728-172347.jpg

20130728-172427.jpg

X O X O

M

6 thoughts on “Milo Marathon 2013

  1. AHHHHHHHHH That’s amazing, well done! You must be really proud. I know exactly how you feel. I’ve a half coming up next week and I am determined not to end up on the buggy bus! We have a cut off of 3.5hrs though so not as much pressure as yours!

  2. Pingback: 2014 NIKE WOMEN’S MARATHON CHICAGO

Leave a Reply

